Sponsored by

Stacks Image 858

Bill Davidson Graduate Student Travel Award

We wish to Congratulate:

Nidia Lauzon, Université de Montréal
David Simon, Queen's University

as the winners of the 2017 Bill Davidson Graduate Student Travel Award

For 2017, this award will be given to two qualify winners at $1,000 each. The award is to be used to cover travel to Ottawa and to pay for accommodations at the University of Ottawa Student Residences.
The Award is presented biennially to a Graduate Student to participate in the ETP Symposia that Bill Davidson was instrumental in creating.

The Awardee will be selected by ETP’s
Scientific Advisory Committee,

  1. Applicants must be students in good standing and enrolled full-time in a Masters or Ph.D. program at a Canadian post-secondary institution.
  2. Applicants must be the first author.
  3. The committee encourages applications from interested individuals conducting research in novel tool development, including but not limited to, mass spectrometry. 
  4. Individuals are limited to receive the award once during the course of their studies.
  5. (Please note that we have removed the limitation of one application per supervisor.)
Application Information

Application packages must include:

  1. A cover letter (justifying why the applicant should receive the travel award).
  2. A curriculum vitae.
  3. A brief summary of work to be presented (or the submitted/accepted abstract) (preference will be given to work that has not been previously presented). and
  4. A letter of support provided directly from applicant’s research supervisor.
Submission may be sent by email to: Janette Champ. File to be no larger than 5MB. If the file is larger than 5MB please mail the document to:

Bill Davidson Graduate Student Travel Award
c/o ETP Symposium Inc.
PO Box 1166
Sharon, Ontario, L0G 1V0

Previous Award Winners

2013 - Feng Li, University of Alberta
2015 - Siavash Vahidi, University of Toronto

Bill Davidson was a PhD graduate from the laboratory of Paul Kebarle at the University of Alberta, where he acquired the expertise in the physical chemistry of ion-molecule reactions that stood him in good stead in his long career. He joined Sciex in 1978 and very quickly became a key part of the early success of that company, contributing to the hardware development and writing some of the first application software (on a PDP8 computer!) for the TAGA (Trace Atmospheric Gas Analyzer). This instrument incorporated an APCI ion source and the first commercially available triple-quadrupole analyzer. Mobile versions mounted on a truck are still in use to monitor air quality, especially in the event of environmental accidents.

Bill’s vision and leadership contributed greatly to development of the Aromic System (used as a non-invasive inspection system for air cargo) and in 1989 the API III LC/MS/MS system. The latter pioneered the commercialization of reliable LC/MS/MS instruments for biomedical and other applications, and was the basis of the subsequent commercial success of Sciex.

Bill developed an extensive network of collaborations and interactions with Canadian and international Universities and research institutes that provided the company with exposure to many new scientific advances and technologies. His later role in business and technology development grew from his extensive contacts in the larger scientific community, where his scientific knowledge and judgment were greatly respected.

After retiring from being the Vice-President of Science and Technology at AB SCIEX, Bill co-founded (along with Janette Champ) ETP Symposium Inc. (ETP) to continue to bring researchers together to develop new scientific advances and technologies. ETP is world-renowned as a key conference where international and Canadian researchers get together to collaborate to develop novel technologies to further life sciences research. Bill was an active participant in ETP up until his death in August 2009.

To honour this lifetime achievement, ETP and AB SCIEX have put together an award geared to helping graduate students travel to and participate at the biennial ETP Symposium.